The Cal Alumni Association Announces the 2012 Alumnus of the Year Eric Schmidt, M.S. ’79, Ph.D. ’82

The Cal Alumni Association (CAA) has selected Dr. Eric Schmidt, who earned a master’s degree in 1979 and a Ph.D. in 1982 in electrical engineering and computer science from the University of California, Berkeley, as the 2012 Alumnus of the Year. Executive chairman of Internet company Google, Schmidt is being recognized for his global leadership in technology and information. Schmidt and other distinguished alumni award recipients will be honored at the Charter Gala, a benefit for the Cal Alumni Association, on March 24, 2012, from 6:00 to 11:00 p.m. at the Palace Hotel in San Francisco.

“It is a distinct honor to pay tribute to Dr. Schmidt by recognizing his contributions and presenting him with the Cal Alumni Association’s most prestigious award,” said CAA President Karen Leong Clancy ’76. “He will be joining the ranks of Cal’s most accomplished alumni.” Recent past awardees include Steven Chu, Ph.D. ’76; Richard N. Goldman ’41; Robert D. Haas ’64; Thelton E. Henderson ’55, J.D. ’62; Donald G. Fisher ’50; and Alice Waters ’67.

Dean S. Shankar Sastry, M.S. ’79, M.S. ’80, Ph.D. ’81 of the College of Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley reflects, “Dr. Schmidt is an exemplar of the far-reaching impact of UC Berkeley and our dedicated and talented alumni. His extraordinary achievements, global impact, and personal values are a testament to this fact.”

In addition to his two graduate degrees from UC Berkeley, Schmidt holds a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from Princeton University. He serves as a member of UC Berkeley’s College of Engineering Advisory Board and was a member of the Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences (EECS) Industrial Advisory Board for more than a decade. Schmidt served as CEO of Google from 2001-2011. Previously, he was chairman and CEO of Novell and chief technology officer at Sun Microsystems, and was on the research staff at Xerox Palo Alto Research Center (PARC), Bell Laboratories, and Zilog. Dr. Schmidt is a member of the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology and the Prime Minister’s Advisory Council in the U.K. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2006 and inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences as a fellow in 2007. He also chairs the board of the New America Foundation, and since 2008 has been a trustee of the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, New Jersey.

The Cal Alumni Association is also honoring alumni in the following categories:

The Excellence in Achievement Award is being presented to Julia Chang Bloch ’64, founder and president of the nonprofit US-China Education Trust; Susan Desmond-Hellmann, MPH ’88, oncologist and Chancellor of the University of California, San Francisco; and Barbara Staggers ’76, MPH ’80, physician and director at Children’s Hospital & Research Center Oakland.

The Mark Bingham Award for Excellence in Achievement by a Young Alumnus is being presented to Nnamdi Asomugha ’06, cornerback for the Philadelphia Eagles (No. 24) and Chairman of the Asomugha Foundation serving orphans and widows in Nigeria.

The Excellence in Service Award is being presented to Edward J. Arnold ’40, major gifts co-chair for the Class of ’40 scholarship program; and Alan C. Mendelson ’69, the immediate past president of the Cal Alumni Association and current UC Alumni Regent.

The Bradford S. King Award for Excellence in Service by a Young Alumnus is being presented to Michael Lin ’01, co-chair of the tenth reunion campaign committee for the Class of ’01 and volunteer for the Office of Undergraduate Admissions and Relations with Schools.

The Outstanding Alumni Group is being presented to the Cal Alumni Club of New England, a Boston-based alumni group that serves more than 9,000 Cal alumni in six New England states.

Learn more about the awardees »

Add new comment