UC Berkeley’s Golden Bear Express

The Golden Bear Express is a program that covers transportation from Southern California to Berkeley on Move-In Day for low-income students beginning their studies at Cal in the fall.

This year, the Golden Bear Express will travel by plane (just as “Oski rips through the air”) to transport new Bears to campus. Flights will depart from airports throughout Southern California (San Diego, Orange County, Long Beach, and Burbank), each bringing approximately 30 new undergraduate students (both first-year and transfer) to Oakland International Airport. A tax-deductible gift of $68 will provide a ticket for one student with financial need to start their Cal journey.

Please make a gift to help our incoming Cal students have a golden Move-In Day experience!


Each Southern California alumni chapter will coordinate regional fundraising efforts for the Golden Bear Express and host send-offs at local airports. Please spread the word to all Cal alumni and friends. A gift in any amount will make a huge difference and help the next generation of Cal Bears begin a new chapter at UC Berkeley.

To Make a Gift

Go to crowdfund.berkeley.edu/goldenbearexpress.

Golden Bear Express Alumni Chapter Leaderboard
Chapter Donation
General giving $9054.68
Long Beach $704
Los Angeles $154.68
Orange County $1800
San Diego $544
San Gabriel Valley $204
South Bay $0
Total giving $12,461.36


Sarah Yi, Program Manager, Alumni Chapters (sarah.yi@alumni.berkeley.edu)


Thanks to our generous donors:

Michael Lin
Ken Montgomery
Rishi Chopra
Kate Bowen
Susie Tang
Kevin Kennedy
Roselyn Hsueh
Cathy Carrig
Sharon Cho
David Tjen
Calvin Young
Chris Pounds
Lindsay Mais
Brad Howell
Darrel Smith
Elizabeth Yi
Maryanne Horton
Greg Haack
Jennifer Tobkin
Cynthia Sanoval
Allard Chu
Sam Pennypacker
Daniel Imamura
Lenard Tran
Adeleine Tran
Tim Hoolihan
Dan Choi
Devin Kinyon
Chad Smith
Lincoln Li
Cathy Kodama
David Surratt
Erwin Sandan
Angelita Salas
Samuel Lopez
Nicole Richards
Kristin Webb
Douglass Doucette
Kai Isernhagen
Verna Ayer
Evan Ettinghoff
Kirsten Jensen
Jamie Naguiat
Steve Pong
Sandra Huang Conrrad
Peggy & Jun Xu
Lucresia Graham
Mona Lee
William Spore
Carol Lam
Tiana Leung
Oral Caglar
Audrey Lew
Daniel Aparicio
Lisa Garcia
Will Edmonson
Peter Nicholas
Tyler Lehman
Garreth & Stacy Saiki
Shannon Morzov
Caterina McConnell
Josh Lauman
Martin Kanselbaum
Vicki Scherwin
Mark Smith
Wayne Sandholtz
Cathy Ostiller
Sarah Yi